James Coull Memorial Award Recipients


1/O (E) Michael Hontoir
1/O (LS) Michael Tyndell

For outstanding and meritorious service whilst serving in RFA Mounts Bay during Operation Barytone, the disaster relief operation following the devastation caused by Hurricane Dorian in the Bahamas.


First Officer (X) Jamie FINLAY

First Officer (X) Jamie FINLAY joined RFA MOUNTS BAY as the ship commenced a three year Atlantic Patrol Task (North) deployment.

Within 3 weeks of joining, MOUNTS BAY was fully engaged in delivering Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Relief (HADR) to the British Overseas Territories of Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands, the Turks Caicos Islands and the independent island of Dominica after they suffered unprecedented damage post hurricanes IRMA and MARIA.


CPO(E) Crawford

CPO(E) Crawford was appointed to RFA TIDESPRING as one of the first MARS Tanker Delivery Crew members in July 2015. During an extended appointment period when RFA TIDESPRING completed her build in South Korea, CPO(E) Crawford worked tirelessly to ensure all elements of the Fire Fighting, Damage Control equipment and systems were ready for acceptance and the voyage back to the UK.

This has involved long hours and a dedication to completing the task to the highest standard possible. To achieve his aim he has forged close working relationships with many stakeholders including the DSME workforce, UK MoD project staff and other specialist contractors and inspectors, as well as Lloyds Register class surveyors.


Second Officer (E) Martin Peet

The trustees of the Royal Fleet Auxiliary Association are delighted to announce that the winner of the 2016 Coull Award is Second Officer (E) Martin Peet for meritorious and outstanding service to the Royal Fleet Auxiliary.

The award will be presented to Second Officer (E) Peet at the 2016 Reunion to be held at the Grand Harbour Hotel, Southampton on Saturday 21st May. I am sure you will all join me in offering sincere congratulations to Martin on this achievement.


Captain David Eagles

Following the highly successful deployment of RFA Argus to Sierra Leone the trustees of the RFA Association and the Sponsor of the award have unanimously agreed that the JAMES COULL MEMORIAL Award 2015 should be made to the entire ship’s company of RFA Argus for their exemplary and meritorious effort, during Operation Gritrock, the UK’s participation in the international Ebola relief effort in West Africa.

The award was presented to Captain David Eagles RFA, commanding officer of RFA Argus by RFA Association chairman Frank Andrews at the Association’s annual Reunion Dinner, held this year at the China Fleet Club, Saltash on 16th May.


First Officer (L&S) Ed Read

First Officer (L&S) Ed Read joined the Strategy and Development Team in August 2012; in that time his work has been fundamental to development of policy and processes to ensure the RFA has a sustainable long term future.

With various position management changes, Ed has been vital to both continuity within the Afloat Support Division and ensuring the Strategy Development Programme achieves key milestones.

His contribution and achievements made during his tenure have been over and above the call of duty and for these reasons the Trustees have awarded First Officer Ed Read the James Coull Memorial Award.

It is hoped to make the presentation at the October 2014 Trustees Meeting in the Semapahore Tower.


Chief Officer Brian Hayes

Chief Officer Brian Hayes for the Award, following a Commander in Chief Commendation. This followed a catastrophic main engine failure in RFA FORT AUSTIN, when it became necessary to remove a main piston, and re-configure the engine. Mr Hayes was commended for his outstanding leadership and engineering ability in managing this difficult work, which is normally only carried out in harbour. Brian and his partner Joyce Bond were guests of the RFA Association at the RFA Reunion in London on 28th April, and the Award was presented by our Patron, HRH The Earl of Wessex.


Commander in Chief, Sir Jonathon Band

This award was made on RFA Centenary Day, when the Commander in Chief, Sir Jonathon Band, made the presentation to Second Officer Ian Johnson MBE. This officer was recommended for his outstanding leadership and determination in carrying out civil relief operations in Grenada, following Hurricane Ivan.


CPO Martin Joyce

CPO Martin Joyce was selected by the Trustees to be the recipient after receiving a Commander in Chief Commendation. The award takes the form of a large engraved crystal vase and a framed diploma, and these were presented to Mr Joyce by Mrs Mary Coull at a ceremony on board RFA FORT VICTORIA.